An image from Raj's twitter profile

raj patel

Remembering won't help you either.

Published On: July 09, 2023

You often forget something important that you should be remembering in your daily conscience, but you do not? Everyone undergoes the same more or less. I tend to think the same. Often I wonder why I can’t remember ‘em all? But it doesn’t matter. Let me tell you a framework more like an advice I took literally from a tv character but helped me eh?

Sherlock is a spectacular and one of my favorite series of all time. Two reasons to prove to you.

The immortal character of Sherlock Holmes created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I found myself in love with the Sherlock Holmes books when I was probably in standard 7th or 8th. From then it became THE CHARACTER.

Reluctant to the change.

I have seen the two Sherlock movies done by Robert Downey Jr. And they were perfect. I was even more in love with Sherlock as a character after I saw him on the screen. The series Sherlock premiered on BBC was modern. I was a bit hesitant to watch it at first. Because Sherlock came from the medieval times and I may not like its modern day depiction. But I have heard about the series and have seen the ratings. So I thought to give it a try. I still remember it was April of 2020 when I was watching the series. Fascinated by it. Took me to the storm. Had an impact on me.

Please Get to the Point

I remember in one episode of Sherlock, John asks Sherlock about the earth orbiting the sun in the solar system and sherlock replies I don’t know. John then says even a school kid can tell and you don’t know? What sherlock replied got me thinking. he replies in the sense that

If everyone knows about a thing it’s probably useless and why fill your brain with junk when you can save it to store vital information

Such a nice and simple thought we often underestimate what our brain can remember. Filling it with trending gossips, mindless scrolling and other things will be of no use, it will only consume your energy in doing so. Rather save space in your brain to store some other information that will be useful to you.

I often use this as much as I can. If a piece of information is of no use to me in the long run I might not give it a second thought and throw out the brain. Often I find it easy to store and comprehend new things easily.

The thing that made me write all of this was a podcast episode. The podcast is Dostcast and the episode is one with Jash Dholani (oldbooksguy). They were discussing ideas and why they should not need to sound academic and why ideas can be fun to think of. Half way through, very informative and some good things I heard in a while. The thing is I was very interested and listened to them. Here’s the mistake: I only listened to them and now at the time of writing this I can not even recall any good takeaway that I would have liked to remember. So I thought why and this note came to me.